2018 Winners

Close to 450 industry leaders made the 2018 Australian Shipping and Maritime Industry Awards an outstanding success with the highlight being the induction of Captain Alan Tait into the industry’s hall of fame.

The awards ceremony was held at Sydney’s Wentworth Sofitel hotel, attracting guests from across Australia who were kept entertained by the night’s lively host, Michael Pope.

The Winners were:
Australia-South East Asia Award

Winner: Maersk Line
Highly commended: ANL and MSC
Sponsor: Fremantle Ports

Australia-North East Asia Award

Winner: Cosco Shipping
Highly commended: OOCL and Hamburg Süd
Sponsor: Port of Brisbane

Australia-North America Award

Winner: Hamburg Süd
Highly commended: ANL and CMA CGM
Sponsor: Port of Melbourne

Australia-NZ/Pacific Islands/PNG Award

Winner: ANL
Highly commended: Maersk Line and Swire Shipping
Sponsor: Leibherr-Australia

Customer Service Award

Winner: ANL
Highly commended: CMA CGM and OOCL
Sponsor: DP World Australia

Environmental or Safety Award

Winner: App Wizard
Highly commended: Port of Brisbane
Sponsor: CSL Australia

Freight Forwarder of the Year Award

Winner: Globelink International
Highly commended: Personalised Freight Solutions and VISA Global Logistics
Sponsor: Evans International Freight Consolidators

Bulk Logistics or Heavy Lift Handling Award

Winner: L.C. Loynes & Associates
Highly commended: AAL and Pilbara Ports Authority
Sponsor: Port of Newcastle

Women in Shipping & Maritime Logistics Award

Winner: Jeanine Drummond
Highly commended: Jacqui McCombie and Lada Bukharina
Sponsor: LINX Cargo Care Group

Customs Broker of the Year Award

Winner: Summit Global Logistics
Highly commended: Compliant Customs and Stephen Roberson (International Cargo Express)
Sponsor: CBFCA

Seafarers Welfare Award

Winner: Sydney Mission to Seafarers
Highly commended: Australian Mariners Welfare Society, Port of Brisbane and Svitzer Australia
Sponsor: Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Maritime Services Award

Winner: Capt. Michael Kelly
Highly commended: Australian Pilotage Group, Capt. Peter Murday and Svitzer Australia Port Kembla
Sponsor: NSW Ports

Supply Chain Innovation & Technology Award

Winner: OMC International
Highly commended: MizzenITTradeLens and TT Club
Sponsor: MIRRAT

Young Achievement Award

Winner: Sarah Kate Vogler
Highly commended: Marcus Mangiafico and David Williams
Sponsor: The Merchant Navy War Memorial Fund

Port or Terminal of the Year Award

Winner: GeelongPort
Highly commended: Port of Brisbane and Victoria International Container Terminal
Sponsor: Svitzer

Newsmaker of the Year Award

Winner: Michael Gallacher, Chief Executive Officer, Ports Australia
Sponsor: Daily Cargo News

Australian Maritime Hall of Fame

Inducted: Capt. Alan Tait
Sponsor: HFW